Peru: Laguna 69 Hike

A few photos from my hike to Laguna 69 a couple days ago. At 4604m (15,104′), this dayhike is the highest elevation I’ve been to so far.

I feel good. And Peru feels so comfortable for some reason. I’ve made friends with the guys running this hostel. We don’t always understand each other, but a smile and a “que tal, Eduardo?” goes a long way. Yesterday, I went with Jhon, one of the young employees here, to a local pool and splashed around with other Peruvians. We chatted about his plans to become a guide and learn English. I told him that I’d help him with English and that he can help me with Spanish.

Juventino, who runs the hostel and has been a mountain guide for as long as I’ve been alive, checks in on me. He gives me info on how to get around. He owns a small farm outside town and suggested that I rent a room from him next time I’m in Huaraz. There’s a lot of genuine warmth there.

I tried to help them set up an account on a Korean travel app (Daily Hotel). They get a lot of Koreans through here, so I also translated one of their signs for them.

It’s crazy to think that I only have two more weeks in this country. I am going on the Santa Cruz trek here, then heading to Cusco. As much as I’m excited to travel around, I also really want to stay here in Huaraz. I am seriously considering returning next year to climb in the Cordillera Blanca and spend some more time with my new friends. Maybe I can really learn Spanish. Maybe I can teach some English. Or help with the Korean clients.

This is a beautiful place. Full of beautiful people.

Leave a comment