Peru: The Monastery of San Francisco

Managed to get the flu while traveling, so that’s fun! Spent the last few days in my room fighting off a fever and hating life. There’s definitely something going around as a number of the guests here are sick with similar symptoms (headache, fever, etc). On the positive side, I’ve learned how to say “ibuprofen” in Spanish.

It’s “ibuprofen.”

I’m doing better now and will be resuming my exploration of Huaraz and the Cordillera Blanca soon.

In the meantime, enjoy some more photos from Lima last week.

This is the historic and still active monastery of St. Francis in the center of Lima. The catacombs underneath hold an estimated 25,000 bodies and were re-discovered recently. There’s a pretty extensive series of tunnels with entrances and connections to the church above. The monastery itself houses an incredible collection of art including paintings, vestments, and religious pieces.

I took the “English language tour,” but since I’m apparently the only idiot in this country that doesn’t speak Spanish, I got a private tour!

I also walked around Lima’s Chinatown district. First of all, LIMA HAS A CHINATOWN?!? I learned that Peruvians love “chifa” which is a fusion of Cantonese and Peruvian culinary styles. There have apparently been a lot of Chinese immigration over the years from the Guangdong province. Peru also apparently had anti-Chinese immigration laws in place for a long time and only recently lifted them. The Chinatown here was damaged during riots in the early 1900’s and rebuilt.

Something else I’ve noticed, I definitely hear a lot of people saying “chino” behind my back as I pass. One guy (a vendor of some kind) even started yelling “Chino! Chino!” at me on the street. I may not fully understand the culture or language of this place, but it definitely doesn’t feel like it was directed at me in a friendly sort of way. Maybe I’m missing something, but it’s a little unnerving.

All that said, it’s been a pretty great trip so far. The Peruvians I’ve met and talked with are warm and friendly. The food is great and I’m learning a ton about this place. The world is so big, and yet, so small.

Leave a comment